2022 Music Prize finalists announced

The 11 were chosen by online voters, music industry professionals

SHREVEPORT, La. (KSLA) — The 11 Music Prize finalists were announced the evening of Tuesday, Aug. 23.

Musicians had to submit a video performance to stream online Aug. 5-21.

The 11 finalists, noted with ** in boldface, were chosen from the following field of 25 semifinalists (Click on the band’s name to view its submission video; some videos may contain explicit content):

  1. Absyte
  2. ** Allisen and the Wys Guys
  3. ** The American Hotel System
  4. ** Aname’ Rose
  5. Beauty School Dropout
  6. ** Benedetto
  7. ** Bond Plus
  8. Clint & the Cosmic Wake
  9. Gabby B
  10. Heavy is the Head
  11. Honey XL
  12. Junior the Third
  13. Krystall Poppin
  14. Lashawn Bowens
  15. Lost Circus
  16. LVVRS
  17. ** The Neon Highway
  18. ** Octavia the Great
  19. ** Ouro Boar featuring Ricky Latt
  20. People of Peace
  21. ** Rococo Disco
  22. ** Shelly Knicks and The Love + Space Connection
  23. ** Star Chamber
  24. T. Natty
  25. Tony Aye

The finalists were decided by online voters and a selection committee of music industry professionals.

The Music Prize finals will be held Oct. 14-15 in Shreveport.

That’s when each of the 11 finalists will play a 20-minute set live for the grand prize of $10,000 cash. Second place wins $2,000; and third wins $1,000. Plus, all bands are paid for their performances at the finals.

Click here to buy tickets to Music Prize finals

Curtis Heyen

Curtis Heyen

KSLA News 12 Digital Content Producer Curtis Heyen is an award-winning journalist, reporter, and editor with deep roots in the ArkLaTex.