The Shreveport Symphony Orchestra returns for 2020-2021 season

Hope springs eternal for Shreveport Symphony Orchestra (SSO)fans. Recently, the orchestra released their 2020-2021 Willis-Knighton Masterworks Series schedule. Since the Coronavirus kept us all a part the symphony thought outside the box and came up with unique online concerts and a schedule featuring some of their ensembles.

With the hopes of the pandemic ending, the Shreveport Symphony hopes to be back in action with these concerts. All of the concerts except for the Holiday Celebration take place at First Baptist Shreveport.

Shreveport Symphony Orchestra 2020-2021 schedule

Saturday, December 19 – 7:30pm – Holiday Celebration in Louisiana

  • Featuring bass-baritone and Shreveport native Timothy Jones and soprano Sarah Jane McMahon, enjoy the holiday season with all the favorites. Watch it all online.

Sunday, January 9 – 7:30pm and Sunday, January 10 at 3:00pm – Mahler Symphony No. 4

  • Soprano Twyla Robinson joins a small ensemble for this moving and unique performance.

Saturday, January 30 – 7:30pm and Sunday, January 31 at 3:00pm – The Four Seasons (Recomposed)

  • British composer Max Richter tweaked the famous Vivaldi work The Four Seasons. Spanish violinist Francisco Fullana returns to Shreveport for this concert.

Saturday, February 27 – 7:30pm and Sunday, February 28 at 3:00pm – Simone Dinnerstein Plays Bach

  • Simone is one of the world’s best interpreter of Bach’s music. You don’t want to miss this performance.

Saturday, March 13 – 7:30pm and Sunday, March 14 at 3:00pm – Scott Joplin & the Age of Ragtime

  • The SSO celebrates the music and legacy of the Ark-La-Tex legend of Scott Joplin.

Saturday, March 27 at 7:30 pm and Sunday, March 28 at 3:00pm – Appalachian Spring

  • The SSO strings section performs four selections from George Walker, Shostakovich, Delius, and Copland.

Saturday, April 24 at 7:30pm and Sunday, April 25 at 3:00pm – Broadway Today with Craig Schulman

  • The Broadway star returns to the area with memorable tunes and favorites.

Saturday, May 22 at 7:30pm and Sunday, May 23 at 3:00pm – Beethoven & Haydn

  • Wideman winner Alon Goldstein joins the full symphony for two famous works: Symphony No. 94 & Piano Concerto No. 5 Emperor

Ticket info

For more details on the season, click here. If you are a patron, you can renew your subscription for the Shreveport Symphony Orchestra’s 2020-2021 season today by calling 318.227.8863 Monday-Friday from 9:00am-5:00pm. Check their website once in a while for more ticket information as we get closer to the season.

Classical music with classical literature: New Drive Up Concerts

COPYRIGHT 2020, GRAY MEDIA GROUP INC.